Low Carb Veggie Protein Pancake

Lifestyle

You may have seen some of my previous pancake recipes on here and noticed that I don’t seem to be eating them lately. Well, here is why: I am cutting. That means that in order to burn bodyfat, I have lower carbs and lower fats in my overall diet. So, sadly, my high carb and high protein pancakes had to go. I still freaking LOVE pancakes, and couldn’t stand the thought of not having a protein pancake every morning! So I created a lower carb version that is packed full of awesome micronutrients!

IMG_6625

These are not your average pancake. If you are used to normal bread-like pancakes, don’t expect that. However, if you’re looking for something that has a low carbohydrate breakdown, is packed full of micronutrients and protein, then give these a shot! They are quite green…like shamrock green. But I absolutely LOVE them!

Ingredients

  • handful of spinach
  • 1/2 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1/4 cup chopped zucchini
  • 1/4 cup chopped or “riced” cauliflower
  • 1 tbs flaxseed *optional
  • 1 tbs unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 to 1 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (depending on your macros…I need 1 1/2 currently)

Instructions

  • Place all of the ingredients into a blender.
  • Blend until smooth.
  • Heat up a nonstick pan and spray lightly with cooking spray.
  • When it’s up to temp (aim for medium) pour some of the batter onto the pan.
  • Let it cook for a few minutes until the batter gets a little bubbly and you can see the edges are decently cooked.
  • Flip! I like to gently press the spatula down on the pancake after it’s flipped to make sure the middle gets cooked.
  • Remove from the pan and repeat! *This recipe makes one serving which is generally about 3 pancakes.
  • I like to top these with some fresh blueberries and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

*I also play around with adding in 1/4 cup of pureed pumpkin, or substituting the cauliflower for an additional 1/4 cup of chopped zucchini. You could also add in some spices to your batter like nutmeg etc.

Same recipe but using chocolate protein powder

Same recipe but using chocolate protein powder

*The macros change depending on the protein powder you use, and how much of it. Personally, I like to use NLA for Her whey protein in the flavor Vanilla Cupcake. I sometimes will switch and use their Chocolate Eclair (but those turn out brown looking haha!)

Leave a Reply

