Living Fit // A Typical Day of Food

Fitness, Lifestyle

I thought it might be fun to do a post that shares what a typical day looks like for me right now in terms of food! I started to write this the other week…but then I recently changed up my meals…not my macros, just how they are met at each meal. So this isn’t 100% accurate at the moment….but not an uncommon set up! Now, keep in mind that my macros are determined by my coach specifically for me. What my teammates eat, other competitors eat, etc is different, and all catered specifically for those individuals. My macros are laid out for me and me alone. That being said, here is a look at what a typical day is for me!

IMG_5482

6:15am – Meal 1

This is my breakfast, which I absolutely LOVE as I am a big breakfast person! This is a protein pancake and half a grapefruit. This is a different protein pancake from what you would find a recipe for earlier in my blog posts. This is MUCH lower in carbs. Here is what it consists of:

– 1/2 cup “riced” cauliflower that has been defrosted and sort of steamed

– 1 cup of liquid egg whites (sometimes I will switch it and use 1/2 cup and 1 scoop protein powder…that makes it a thicker pancake…but I don’t like to rely on protein powder all the time. However, I think this keeps me fuller longer.)

– 1 tbs flaxseed (currently loving the Spectrum “Decadent” blend.)

– 2 tsp Hersey’s Special Dark Cocoa Powder or none at all

– 1/2 tsp baking powder

I blend this up in my magic bullet and cook it on a sprayed pan with a lid. Sometimes I will add a splash of vanilla or almond extract. Then I flip the pancake after a few minutes of cooking. I eat this with Walden Farms Pancake Syrup and sometimes some PB2.

My grapefruit is literally just half of a giant grapefruit.

 

8:30am – Meal 2 (no photo…I always ate this too quickly before I remembered to take a picture! Woops!)

This typically consists of 1 cup low fat Daisy Cottage Cheese, 1 Quaker Caramel Corn rice cake, and 24 Blue Diamond almonds (either dark chocolate covered or the toffee kind.) I recently switched this meal up to be 5.3oz plain non-fat Greek yogurt with 1/2 scoop of protein powder instead of cottage cheese, and occasionally will do a low-fat graham cracker portion instead of a rice cake. This change was made because I wanted to switch things up, I wanted to lower my fats and sodium a bit as well. This meal I tend to keep in line with a morning snack feel. So I don’t include a meat, as I want it to feel breakfast-like.

IMG_5665

12pm – Meal 3

This is my typical lunch time, or what I would call lunch. 3 oz chicken breast (usually done in the crockpot with whatever marinade I chose for the week. I don’t keep anything that it was cooked in, so it’s literally just the chicken. Sometimes I use water as the base and sometimes a no sodium added chicken stock.) Then 1 cup chopped fresh broccoli that I steam, and 1 La Tortilla Factory “Low Carb” whole wheat tortilla. Sometimes I put my chicken in the tortilla, sometimes I don’t. Typically I put some Walden Farms salad dressing or condiment on my chicken. Not always though. Then I usually eat 1/3 of my Quest Bar as dessert. I have found that while I do really enjoy sweet potatoes, that tortillas and bread are my preferred dense carb sources. (I like beans on my refeed day though!) My body responds well to these carbs as far as digestion goes, and it’s easier for me to put things together rather than prepping sweet potatoes or rice, etc. I will say that it’s just what I have found I prefer and what works for me, but I occasionally will switch it up.

IMG_5669

3pm – Meal 4

I call this my, “second lunch,” which makes me sound like a bit of a hobbit (don’t worry, I don’t have harry feet…but I am short….) Anyway this is literally a repeat of meal 3 except I have Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Whole Grain bread, and green beans instead of broccoli. And 1/3 of my Quest Bar of course….sometimes depending on how hungry I am I’ll just finish that baby off. I choose to eat green beans for this meal because they’re fibrous and cheap. I love asparagus, but it’s not the easiest to deal with in terms of microwaving at work. So green beans are just easier. I buy mine fresh and cut them up.

IMG_5666

7pm – Meal 5

This is my post-workout meal, also known as dinner. Most days during the week it’s this glorious mug cake. Which feels like I am eating dessert for dinner. This is 2 scoops of protein powder, 1 tbs liquid egg whites, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp Hersey’s Special Dark Cocoa Powder if I use chocolate protein powder, and 2-3 tbs unsweetened vanilla almond milk. Which I stir the batter up and microwave for 1 minute max. Usually I top this with some Walden Farms Chocolate Syrup (or caramel if I have it) and depending on my macros from my breakfast I may put some PB2 on there…or if I have part of my Quest Bar I will put that on there as well. Often times I will have a couple spoons of sugar free/ fat free pudding (made with almond milk) OR a bit of my Arctic Zero ice cream.

Recently I changed this to be where I have scrambled egg whites, turkey bacon, spinach and a slice of Ezekiel bread. I love my mug cake, but sometimes I want something different. So when I made adjustments recently, that’s something I changed!

Now, if it’s on the weekend…..most of this changes. I follow flexible dieting on the weekends primarily. So I eat the same macros, but I go about it differently. If you follow me on Instagram or my Fitness Facebook Page you will probably see random recipes and meals on the weekends simply because I do IIFYM those days. (Really I do IIFYM all days, but it’s just easier for me to plan my work days out entirely, and then wing it on the weekends a bit….and by wing it I mean decide that morning everything and change it up as I go depending on how I feel like eating….usually I will eat nonfat plain greek yogurt with 1 tsp sugar free / fat free pudding mix….because I love it! Or I’ll have some proats….but I adjust my macros for the meals if I do those things!)

Leave a Reply

