Living Fit // Bicep Exercises

Fitness, Lifestyle

I absolutely LOVE working biceps! They are one of my favorites! There’s just something about having a nice peak on the bicep that just feels SO good. I feel like I had weak biceps for a long time, and they still burn out sooner in a workout than I would like, but they have improved a great deal with intentional work. I think a common theme you will see throughout my posts, is that being intentional to focus on a muscle group greatly improves how your workouts go and the results you will get.

I recently did a comparison of my arms and you can clearly see the progress!

IMG_2339LEFT: June 2013                     RIGHT: February 10, 2015

So, since we are talking about biceps, I thought I would give you some of my favorite bicep exercises. I usually pair my bicep workout with my back workout. But the exercises below are ones that you would see me performing on any given bicep day.

Preacher Curls

Oh how I love these! I attribute these to a lot of my recent bicep growth. Some people find them to be painful on the elbows, so just be aware of your elbow placement. Be sure you get a nice full stretch as you bring the weight down from the contraction, and then when in the contracted position be sure to hold it and squeeze for a second to really get the most out of the movement. Start light! Don’t go too heavy too fast! You want to build your way up, so if you are on a light weight and doing 4 sets of 8 reps- that’s fine! Slowly increase your tolerance for higher reps and then slowly increase the weight! Your biceps will grow! I promise!

21’s with Dumbbells

This is another exercise that I attribute a lot of my recent bicep growth to. This movement allows you to focus on various portions of the range of motion, which is very different than the previous exercises we looked at. I like to do both arms at the same time with this. Again, start light and work your way up! I prefer to start with the lower movement, beginning with my dumbbells at my side and raising them to 90 degrees, and then back down. Do 3 sets of 7 (I like to do my sets in 4’s so I did 4 sets of 7.) Then bring your dumbbells to the top by your shoulders, and lower them to 90 degrees and then back up. Do 3 sets of 7. Then do the whole movement- from top to bottom. This really gets your biceps a great burn.

Alternating Bicep Curls

I tend to use a heavier weight with these since it is not quite as intense as 21’s and you are alternating. One variation on this is that instead of resting your hand with the dumbbell at your side, you could hold it at 90 degrees.

Cable Curls

I like to do one arm at a time, so I just use one handle. Keep the cable at the bottom, and make sure you stand far enough away from the pole/cable that you get a nice resistance.

Crucifix Curls

I do these one at a time so I can focus, as it is more difficult for me to have good form when doing both arms at the same time. PLUS it free’s up the cable station for others…I don’t like to hog it! Put the cable at the top of the pole, stand far enough away to get a good stretch, and bring your fist with the handle to about your ear. I looooove watching my biceps move in this one!

Hammer Cable Curls

I like to use this as my burnout on my biceps. I use the rope extension on the cable machine, and go heavy. I focus on trying to do sets of 8-10 reps, but often times it’s just until failure. Try not to swing your body when you do any of these bicep exercises!

 

Let me know if you give any of these bicep exercises a try! They are pretty typical great bicep exercises, so if you feel you need someone to physically show you how, I’m positive someone in your gym will be able to help you out!

Leave a Reply

