Living Fit // You Can’t Spot Reduce

Fitness

Everyone has a trouble area that they are unhappy with and cannot seem to get leaned out and how they want. I hear questions about trouble areas frequently and I’m sure if you did a Google search for it, you would get all sorts of answers. But the reality is that unfortunately, you cannot spot reduce.

Whether your trouble area is your abdomen, back, arms or legs, there is no way to tell your body to clean up that area in priority to another. Your body chooses how it loses fat and gains muscle. Sure there are things you can do to help a bit, but ultimately, your body does as it pleases.

So how can you help your body along the way? Well they say that it’s really 70% diet and 30% exercise. While, that’s not a scientific breakdown, I can tell you even from my own experience that it’s pretty accurate! I workout a lot, and hard! Yet it wasn’t until I cleaned up my diet that I really started seeing changes quickly. My problem areas have changed over time, but my back for instance took care of itself. I did help it along the way with working my back muscles specifically and intentionally.

Your body will lose fat in its own way, but if you focus on increasing the strength in your muscles you will see an increase in fat loss. Muscle burns fat, so the more muscle you have the more fat you will burn.

In my journey, when I first started building muscle, I looked like I increased in size, which was not at all what I wanted. This was due to the muscle increasing size underneath the fat I had. With proper diet and continued exercise, this changed. I’m still in the process of leaning out, but I have made a lot of progress!

Now, let’s talk about diet. Your body keeps an accurate record of what you put into it. Just because you didn’t log it in your food journal doesn’t mean you didn’t eat it. So do yourself a favor and be honest. The first thing I encourage you to do is cut out processed sugar. No white sugar, brown sugar, Splenda, sweet and low, etc. Stick with sweeteners that are natural, like honey, pure maple syrup, stevia etc.

The next thing that will help tremendously is to drink enough water! Your body needs water to function properly. So don’t skimp out on your water consumption. If drinking water seems boring, add some cucumbers, lemon or strawberries to it in order to add some natural flavors.

The final suggestion I have towards diet is to eat your vegetables. Don’t be afraid of complex carbohydrates or fiber! Veggies are important because they are packed with nutrients, lower in carbs and calories (so you can eat a TON of them) and high in fiber! All phenomenal in terms of health benefits. So eat your veggies!

Overall, don’t get discouraged. Take progress pictures and see over time how your body gets rid of that unwanted fat and builds muscle. Rome wasn’t built in a day, neither is a lean and muscular physique. So just keep at it, work hard and make small changes that lead to success!

Leave a Reply

