Living Fit // What I Eat

Fitness, Lifestyle

Diet and nutrition is a large part of fitness and reaching goals. I have had a lot of questions over the last few months as to why I don’t eat certain things, why I bring my own food to events, etc. I thought it would be fun for you to see a typical day in terms of what I eat!

I eat at 6 different times each day. This is because it is important to keep your blood sugar level and keep your metabolism going. I am particularly sensitive to blood sugar, I get really grumpy when my blood sugar drops, so it’s really important to keep it level! :) For everyone’s sake! I try and make sure that every time I eat it is balanced. I also drink a LOT of water. I am someone who’s body just needs a LOT of water, and I am pretty much always thirsty….I literally can drink 200oz of water in a day and still be thirsty. So I drink water ALL.THE.TIME.

7am – Breakfast

IMG_0190

I make myself a protein pancake every morning for breakfast. It is really quick and easy and tastes good! I make this using ground old fashioned oats, flax seed, cinnamon, and egg whites. I use 1 tbs of peanutbutter and 1 tbs of low sugar jam on it. I then eat half of a grapefruit. I typically drink a cup of coffee wit
h a little creamer and some water. This is the meal that I eat the quickest, BY FAR. I am super hungry in the morning, so this gets downed!

9:30am-10am – Morning Snack (time fluctuates depending on meetings)

IMG_0188

I have 3/4 cup of non-fat strawberry Greek yogurt with 1/2 cup of homemade granola (with almonds/pecans), and 1 cup of baby carrots. No, I don’t put my carrots in my yogurt :) I eat those after. I keep a measuring cup in my lunch bag so I can always get accurate portions.

12pm – Lunch

IMG_0192

I switch up my marinade and veggies occasionally, but typically lunch consists of 5oz baked chicken, 6oz sweet potatoes with cinnamon and nutmeg, 1 cup of veggies (green beans, or broccoli are my favorites.) I pre-portion all of this out  when I do meal prep on the weekend, so I just grab my container every morning.

3pm – Pre-Workout Snack

image

I absolutely love this snack. 3/4 cup of low-fat 2% cottage cheese, 1 cup of quinoa with low sodium black beans, 1 cup of baby carrots. This snack in particular is extremely important for me. I have to get my timing just right and make sure I eat things in the correct order so that I am properly fueled for my workout. If I don’t do this well, I will fatigue and get hungry too early.

6:30pm – Post Workout Snack

image

I look forward to this every day! It’s like a treat! I have one Quest protein bar (my favorites are cookies and cream, cookie dough and brownie!) and then one apple (Braeburn is my favorite!) I also make sure I drink my aminos to help my muscles recover.

7:30pm – Dinner

IMG_0189

This is another pre-prepped meal. We measure out 4oz baked chicken (same as what I had for lunch,) 5 oz baked red potatoes, and 1 cup veggies. (We tend to do broccoli or asparagus for this meal.) I cut the portions back on this because I had my post-workout snack right before that makes up for that amount.

Sometimes if I am craving a sweet at work I will have low-sugar dried mango or some high quality dark chocolate. If I am craving a sweet at home, I tend to have watermelon or frozen berries

 

Leave a Reply

