Thankfulness Thursday // Week 1

Inspire, Lifestyle, Personal

For the month of November, I am going to do a “Thankfulness Thursday” post, to remind myself, and you, what we have to be thankful for. I love thanksgiving and always intend to spend time in reflection of what I have to be thankful for, and to give and/or serve others who are struggling in one way or another. However, with how busy life can be- I can often get swept up in my daily tasks that I forget to take the time to think about it. (Bad, I know!) So this year, I intend to spend time in reflection of what I am grateful for.

My favorite Thanksgiving growing up was the year that my mom insisted that we serve as a family on Thanksgiving day, at a homeless shelter serving food. I was young and wasn’t really all that interested, and it was out of my comfort zone as I was…and still can be… quite shy. However I will always remember that, we unfortunately didn’t do it again, but I am glad we got to at least once! One thing that I want to instil in my future kids, and with Nathon and I, is an attitude of thankfulness. We really do deserve nothing. And yet we are so blessed. So, I know that Thanksgiving is a cliché time to serve at a homeless shelter, as my friend Jim has told me, lots of people sign up to serve, but then once the holidays are done, there is few volunteers. Volunteers are needed year round…yet we only seem to want to serve during the holidays…. So as much as I know shelters need assistance in other times of the year, I intend to have a new family tradition for us be that we serve at a shelter each Thanksgiving. I want our children to grow up having humility, gratefulness, and sincerity. I want to also remind myself, because let’s face it, I need those reminders just as much as our future children will!!

Anyway, for this week’s thankfulness post, I want to remind myself that I am thankful for my family. I have a great family who has supported me throughout my life. I had a wonderful childhood where I got to be super creative, carefree and crazy. My siblings are wonderful, so dynamic and unique, and my parents are extremely thoughtful, patient and generous. I also grew up with a roof over my head. I had a huge yard to play imaginary games in, and a room with a door I could slam ;)  I am thankful that my family and I are close, even though I live a few hours away, I still enjoy the times I get to spend with them, whether it’s over the phone or in person.

I am thankful for my new family, my in-laws! I am excited to be joining a family with brothers and sisters, some I haven’t met yet, and to have such wonderful loving parents in-law. I really enjoy spending time with them all, and  so grateful they are so great!!!! (I mean you hear horror stories of people not getting along, and that is just NOT the case!) I love spending time with them and getting to know them better!! I am excited to be joining the family in…. 72 days! ;)

What are you thankful for this month? Are you taking the time to reflect on all the blessings being poured out on you? :)

Leave a Reply

