DIY: Simple Terrarium

DIY, Lifestyle

So, a couple of months ago I got these two adorable little succulents called Chicks and Hens as a favor at a wedding. I have been going through this attempting to get a green-thumb kick, and so these were a perfect addition to my growing plant collection. I got them in these tiny little pots, and the longer I had them, the more cramped they seemed to be! I decided I wanted to repot them into something cuter with more space, so off to Pinterest I went! I happened to stumble upon these cute ideas for terrariums! I did some research, and found out the type of environment and soil the succulents need, and I was set on my idea! My fiance and I headed to Ikea the other day and happened to pick up this rectangular glass vase specifically for this project! So, before I show you what to do, I want to let you know- this is SUPER easy and pretty cheap! These plants are also pretty easy to maintain!

These are the two little succulents I have, see how tiny those pots were!!! They had absolutely no room to grow! Because they were so tight, they were a PAIN to water….hence why their leaves are facing downward….they weren’t getting the water they need. This new terrarium solves the problem! (And looks really good too!) You can pick these little cuties up at your local Home Depot for a couple bucks, and there are plenty of different variations. These particular ones have purple on the tips of their leaves.

This is the vase we picked up for about $20 at Ikea, you can get any shape you want, but I recommend having it be a bit deep so that it can create a heat barrier and insulation. We chose rectangular because we now have a new rectangular coffee table!

Then you will need some of these little pebbles, which again, you can find at Ikea, Michael’s, JoAnne’s etc. These were 85 cents per bag at Ikea and we got 2 bags. Go ahead and choose any color and variations you like!

The next item you will need is this sphagnum moss, which you can pick up for about $4 at Home Depot! This will help with the drainage of water. And then you will need some potting soil! You can get the kind specifically for cacti or just general soil…I chose regular potting soil.

The first thing you want to do is place the pebbles in the bottom of the vase. This will allow for excellent drainage of the water, and you will be able to see when they are dry and need watering!

The next step is to place a layer of the sphagnum moss on top of the pebbles. This will further assist in the draining of the water, while filtering the dirt out. It will help keep the soil above the rocks!

And this is where I got a little excited and forgot to take pictures….BUT you then place a layer of soil on top of the moss and plant your succulents! I did just about equal parts of each layer, and left some room at the top to trap the heat in. You can also do this in an apothocary jar with a lid! When you have finished planting your succulents, go ahead and water thoroughly until you see water pool at the bottom with the rocks.

They don’t need a lot of water, so wait until the rocks are dry and water again! This type of plant is an indoor plant, and needs indirect sunlight. It really is a pretty easy type of plant to take care of as it doesn’t need a lot of attention.

I hope you enjoyed this post and maybe make a terrarium of your own!

Leave a Reply

