Product Review: L’oreal Paris Magic Lumi Light Infusing Primer

Lifestyle, Obessions

I bought the Magic Lumi Light Infusing Primer a few months ago, I had heard some good things about it and thought I would try it out! This product goes on underneath your foundation to even out your skin, create a luminous appearance, and give a natural dewey look. I had heard about it on a blog I follow, Chisel Beauty, and wanted to see what it was like. I have always been a fan or the dewey look, it gives that subtle glow without being too shimmery, so I was intrigued to find out if this worked or not. I bought it at my local drug store for around $12, which seemed a bit steep for what it is…but I really wanted to try it.

So, overall I like this product. it definitely creates a bit of a shimmer, but not quite a dewey look like I hoped. I tried it on my entire face underneath my foundation, and just really did not like the way it looked. Since then, I have chosen to use it just on my highlight areas: cheekbones, bridge of nose, forehead, chin and the arch of my eyebrows. I prefer it in those chosen areas so that it keeps the luminousness to specific areas, and it is not overwhelming. I think if you mix it with your liquid foundation for those areas instead of applying it just underneath, it works much better. When applied solely underneath the foundation it just doesn’t quite have as strong of an affect. I have continued to use this product on a daily basis, and enjoy its affects. I’m not sure if I will repurchase it once I run out though. I’m not 100% sold on it, but it does a fairly good job.

PROS

– a little goes a long way

– pump bottle makes an easy application

– pretty luminous

– feels really smooth and silky on the skin

CONS

– does not create much of a “dewey” look

– slightly expensive for a tiny bottle

– works best not as a primer, but as an additive to your foundation in highlight zones

Overall, I think this is a fairly decent product. I am not extremely impressed, but I am not disappointed. If you are looking for a subtle shimmer/glow for highlight areas, then this product is for you! If you are looking for that dewey look….I’d keep looking.

2 thoughts on “Product Review: L’oreal Paris Magic Lumi Light Infusing Primer

  1. Does it work as a primer to give a smooth look? I don’t like products that soak into pores and wrinkles. I am looking for a primer that helps prevent this. Right now I am using an Oil of Olay primer and it does an ok job, but I am looking for something that does a better job. I have very dry “mature” skin that is blotchy. I don’t like the feel of heavy foundations. Any suggestions?

    1. I would say this primer does not fill in lines or wrinkles. It is really hydrating, I don’t feel like it dries my skin out at all. It goes on very smoothly and a little goes a long way. Every primer has its specific purpose, this one is to “illuminate,” so it evens the skin tone out a bit, but it’s real purpose is to give a little glow. I prefer to use it as a highlighter. I’m not sure what product would be best in dealing with the lines and wrinkles. I know that Cover Girl has a good line that is designed to create an age-less look.

Leave a Reply

