Birchbox: April 2012

Lifestyle, Obessions

I always get excited at the beginning of the month because I know my Birchbox will be coming. This month’s theme was centralled around Earth Day. The box was filled with samples from various brands, Befine, YesTo, Lulu Organics, Zoya and Taylor Swift. For those of you who haven’t heard of Birchbox, you sign up online for $10 a month, and you get a box full of goodies around the 15th! Each box has a theme, and sometimes you get small samples and other times you get full size products. You try the products and then go online to your account and review them, with each review being worth 10 points. 100 points gets you $10 off any product you purchase through them. Your points can rack up for up to one year, and if you have not used them at that point, then they disappear. You also get points for referring people to sign up for Birchbox! Overall, it’s a really fun way to try new products each month!

This month I received a Zoya nail polish in the color Bevin. I tend to only use regular nail polish on my toes now since I get the UV Gel manicures. This is a beautiful color for spring though, a muted minty color that’s not too bright. I typically do not choose cool tones for my nails simply because they tend to look weird to me as they are just not natural colors for nails….they just kind of weird me out. So naturally, I tend to gravitate towards pinks, corals, oranges, reds and occasionally purples. So this color is one I don’t see myself wearing much. I am currently sporting it on my toes, but we will see for how long. It is a good quality polish, it’s just not the color I would pick for myself.

I was excited to get a sample of this in my box this month! This Lulu Organics hair powder with lavender and clary sage is a new product to me. I love using dry shampoo because it allows me to wash my hair every 3 days, without looking nasty. I have been using Suave dry shampoo, so I was excited to try this particular one. It smells incredible, very clean, but is a little hard to use. It is a bit messy as you have to put it in your hands and then rub it in your roots. I find that the spray can of the Suave dry shampoo is much easier. I like this product a lot, I just wish it was packaged more practically.

I was extremely hesitant about this sample of Wonderstruck….I am not a Taylor Swift fan….AT ALL. I used to be…until I heard her sing live and realized she is off key 99% of the time, and all of her songs are about things 17 year olds would care about…..So needless to say, I was not thrilled about this product. I expected it to be super fruity and girly, really young and unbearable. However, I was pleasantly surprised. It smells really good. Very similar to a perfume I already own though, but good. I don’t think I would ever purchase the scent, but I will wear this sample. Still do not care for Taylor Swift.

I have heard of YesTo products, and have used their carrot face wash in the past and thought it was pretty good. I had not yet used their blueberries line, so I was intrigued to try it. These towelettes are really nice, they are smooth and don’t sting like other towelettes. They smell incredible due to the apple, lemon and blueberries! I would buy this for my travel bag, but not for every day. I prefer my regular face wash on a regular basis, but these would be really good for being on the go, or for an extra pick me up after washing my face.

This month’s box included a couple samples from Befine. This is their daily moisturizer with SPF 15. I used one packet and thought it was alright…..until I got am email from Birchbox saying to check the expiration date as some were expired…..sure enough mine are expired! So they gave me 100 points (basically this month’s $10 back,) so I am not upset. I however will not be using the other packet….and feel that I cannot accurately review this product as it was expired….

The second Befine product I received was the Exfoliating Cleanser with Brown Sugar, Sweet Almonds and Oats. I really enjoy this face wash! I usually don’t like the exfoliating ones as I have sensitive skin, but this one is not too harsh. Plus it smells SOOO good. Love the scent so much I couldn’t stop smelling the packet! Not sure if I will purchase this face wash, but it was really nice to try it as it is very different from the one I typically use.

If you are not signed up with Birchbox, you should absolutely do so! I love receiving the boxes every month and get excited knowing it is arriving. I happen to be a product freak, so this is a great way for me to try new things without breaking the bank!

4 thoughts on “Birchbox: April 2012

  1. My befine moisturizer was expired too, but I wasn’t upset either since I got the 100 points!! Birchbox knows how to take care of their customers :) I found it really greasy though and didn’t like it at all.

    1. I have combination skin, and right now certain areas tend to get really dry. so it was nice to deeply hydrate it. but you’re right I think it’s too heavy for me on a regular basis. and I really love my Korres Pomegranate Cream-Gel Moisturizer

  2. I’m just happy to know I’m not the only one who is NOT a taylor swift fan!! I did like the rest of my April box though, especially the Amika conditioner and Zoya polish.

    1. I wish I had gotten an Amika conditioner! I really enjoyed the Obliphica hair oil from them I got a couple month’s ago. I would have loved to try the conditioner!

Leave a Reply

